Wedged: A Generation In Crisis

    Placeholder Image 

 

You can smell the years of pain, sacrifice, and commitment have not faded from the shoulders of this living room chair. The large leather arm chair in the center of our living room, holds the key to all the great leaders of our family, carries the weight of every generation, and grants a bit of wisdom in it’s distress. This space of this chair in all it’s comfort begs the question: are we really listening?

The impact of listening on different generations.

     Over the many generations of this family, ranging in ages from 1 to 70, there are two things that are unavoidably true- we do not know how to talk to one another, and we do not know how to actively listen. Our greatest strengths in this generation are also our greatest weaknesses, and technology has taken over where healthy family conversation once prevailed.

     We are letting down our great grandparents, and their dreams for us- of unity. Where has their wisdom gone? We have stopped welcoming them. We have stopped sharing the stories of their sacrifices, the legend of their lost loves, and the love that they brought us. We have all become lost, and we don’t know how to communicate or listen with empathy not because we were not taught, because we have forgotten to use and nurture wisdom not just intelligence.

     How do we get back to the heart of our own hearths? How do we find ourselves and each other again, in this sea of self-perpetuated distraction? How do we re-learn how to talk to each other when we are hurting, how do we teach ourselves again how to listen with compassion? These are the things that we have lost touch with in our great act of growing up. We have forgotten to be humans being.

     The only way we will ever find each other, is to become one with our connection to the community again. Whether we use technology to improve our connection to our greater tribes or to avoid them, is up to each of us. Get up, go out for a walk. Get to know your neighbors. Take one step at a time. Sit down and talk to your aging parents, and appreciate their stories. When your kids want to go to the park, take them every day that you can. Give them toys that don’t require a TV, or a movie to get through. Spend time with each other. We all have a place in our own sense of tribe, and community to find and nurture.

    Our ancestors knew we have a great obligation to our tribe to support one another, yet these youngest generations have been taught to serve themselves first- often to the detriment of the greater needs of the community. Here as givers, for Happy the App our choices may be challenged at times- and we are learning to serve. If we can reach these generations that like this arm chair- hold up our spirits, we can reach the whole world.

17 thoughts on “Wedged: A Generation In Crisis

    1. Thank you for reading! I’m working on some new ideas for an app that is launching on the 21rst. Happy the App. I am actually preparing to be regularly publishing some work them, and answering a lot of thier calls via the app.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks for the visit to my place. I came to follow back. I’ll see you around. This post on the generation issue is so true. I am now 83, and I am just now looking at albums and scrapbooks my mother left to me 24 years ago. As I look now, I am so sorry I did not share these things when she was living. She had marvelous skills and interests I didn’t pay attention to. After all she was just an 80 year mom. Now I am an 83 year old daughter who pines because so much about my mother I did not share with her.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I’m sure if they ever read it, they will appreciate it. It’s actually orginally intended for Happy the App, which we’re launching in two weeks. I’ve been reflecting a lot on good listening in preparation.

      Like

  2. Morgan. than you for following my blog. Visiting here, I find much to like. And yes, we seek to remember that we are here because our Ancestors dreamed us into being, and need us to act accordingly. Blessings.

    Like

  3. I heard a lecture last night about riding on the coattails of the previous generation and never doing anything worthwhile of our own. I fear that is happening. Instead, we should be building on that foundation and striving to exceed their accomplishments. That’s what they would want us to do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I alway find that interesting, since I came from a really poor and loving family. Yet I grew up in such a big and expensive town, in all it’s irony. For me it wouldn’t be hard to out do my own parents, but I’ve seen the other side of the coin too among friends. Imagine if your father was a famous musician, or sucessful buisnessman. Sometimes we out do ourselves early too.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I wasn’t talking about financial standing as much as accomplishments that make the world a better place to live in. Being a good neighbor, helping others, offering encouragement and support. Those things don’t cost a dime and are in high demand and leave a legacy that’s will far outweigh any bank account.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. It does seem to be a regular thing around the net to predict &#;n861whe2’ this may happen. My own opinion has been that IF they decide to do this, it may be mid October. I also believe that IF they go forward with it, there may be some unintended consequences that could affect us all – which is why I bring up the notion on this blog… for risk awareness.VN:F [1.9.21_1169](from 0 votes)

    Like

Leave a Reply

